Saturday, May 26, 2012

Broncos Generally Ignored on Phil Steele's All-Mountain West Team

Phil Steele, in his annual College Football Preview, named 13 Boise State players to his Preseason All-Mountain West football team.

That sounds pretty good, until you hear the news that Steele also selected 13 players from Nevada to the team.

Four Broncos were on Steele's All-MW First Team:  wide receiver Matt Miller, guard Joe Kellogg, tackle Charles Leno, Jr. and punt returner Mitch Burroughs.  Nevada also had four players on the first team.

D.J. Harper was chosen to Steele's second team, with defensive end Demarcus Lawrence and linebacker J.C. Percy joining him.  That's three.  Nevada had five players on the All-MW Second Team.  

Burroughs was also named to the third team at wide receiver, as was linebacker Blake Renaud and cornerback Jamar Taylor.  

I'm sure that players like Harper, Percy, Renaud, Taylor, cornerback Jerrell Gavins, tight end Gabe Linehan, tackles Mike Atkinson and Ricky Tjong-A-Tjoe and safety Lee Hightower will say quite a bit about how they feel about Steel's list this fall.  Boise State opens its 2012 season at Michigan State August 31 on ESPN.

No comments:

Post a Comment