Thursday, July 17, 2014

Hedrick Earns Spot on Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

Boise State has had some great teams in the past, and certainly some players on the national radar, but I don't recall a year in which so many Broncos were honored on preseason watch lists.

Quarterback Grant Hedrick has been named to the Davey O'Brien Quarterback Watch list, an award given annually to the nation's top quarterback.  Hedrick is one of 39 quarterbacks on the list.

Grant came in for the injured Joe Southwick and started five games, completing 167 of 242 passes for 1,825 yards and 16 touchdowns.  Hedrick ranked fifth in the nation with a 69.0% completion percentage, and was 23rd in passing efficiency with a rating of 150.0.

The field of honorees will be narrowed to 16 on November 3, with the three finalists announced November 24.  The Davey O'Brien winner will be announced December 11 at the annual College Football Awards Show.

Below is the list of current Broncos on preseason Watch Lists:

Paul Hornung Award:  Shane Williams-Rhodes
Maxwell Award:  Jay Ajayi
Thorpe Award:  Donte Deayon and Jeremy Ioane
Biletnikoff Award:  Matt Miller
Davey O'Brien Award:  Grant Hedrick
Lou Groza Award:  Dan Goodale

No comments:

Post a Comment