Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Kelen Moore of Boise State is a Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalist

For the second consecutive year, Boise State quarterback has been named as one of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award, presented annually to the nation's top collegiate quarterback.

Moore and Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck both were finalists last year, while Houston QB Case Keenum was a finalist in 2009.

The O'Brien National Selection Committee selected the 16 semifinalists on the basis of quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.  A vote by the fans accounted for five percent of the final vote.

The complete list of semifinalists is below:
Matt BarkleyJRUSC
Tajh BoydSOClemson
Kirk CousinsSRMichigan State
Seth DoegeJRTexas Tech
Robert Griffin IIIJRBaylor
Landry JonesJROklahoma
Case KeenumSRHouston
Andrew LuckJRStanford
Kellen MooreSRBoise State
Keith PriceSOWashington
Denard RobinsonJRMichigan
Ryan TannehillSRTexas A&M
Darron ThomasJROregon
Brandon WeedenSROklahoma State
Russell WilsonSRWisconsin
Tyler WilsonJRArkansas

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. Fan voting will close at 11 a.m. (MT), Nov. 20.

The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The 2011 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards show, airing Thursday, Dec. 8 on ESPN. Fans can visit the show’s dedicated web site at www.ESPNCollegeFootballAwards.com to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

The 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb. 20, 2012 Fort Worth, Texas.

No comments:

Post a Comment