Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Jay Ajayi Named Semifinalist for Earl Campbell Award

Boise State running back Jay Ajayi has been named as one of 16 semifinalists for the Early Campbell Award, given annually to the top offensive player in college football from Texas.

You can vote for Ajayi at EarlCampbellAward.com.

Ajayi has rushed for 1,390 yards and 19 touchdowns and has caught 44 passes for 535 yards and four scores this year.  He is ranked third in the nation in all-purpose yards (1,925) and fourth in rushing touchdowns. 
Semifinalists must exhibit the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.
In addition to Ajayi,  the list of semifinalists includes Rashard Higgins (Colorado State), J.T. Barrett (quarterback, Ohio State), Trevone Boykin (quarterback, TCU), Shane Carden (quarterback, East Carolina), David Cobb (running back, Minnesota), Corey Coleman (wide receiver, Baylor), Josh Doctson (wide receiver, TCU), Aaron Jones (running back, UTEP), Cayleb Jones (wide receiver, Arizona), Shock Linwood (running back, Baylor), Keevan Lucas (wide receiver, Tulsa), Samaje Perine (running back, Oklahoma), Bryce Petty (quarterback, Baylor), Josh Reynolds (wide receiver, Texas A&M) and Jonathan Williams (running back, Arkansas).
Finalists will be selected from this group and announced Dec. 10. The winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler, Texas, Jan. 14, 201

No comments:

Post a Comment